The museum showcases the art and science of firefighting.
Fireman’s Hall Museum is located on the site of Engine Company Number Eight, a descendant of the Union Fire Company, which was founded by Benjamin Franklin in 1736. It’s housed in a firehouse that dates back to 1902.
The museum is operated by the Philadelphia Fire Department, whose members serve as docents and offer warm hospitality and enthusiastic explanations of the memorabilia housed there. While visitors can enter free of charge, donations are accepted.